11.-13.08.2018 – The Perseids meteor shower 2018

The Perseides 2018 were influenced by really changing weather conditions but luckily for the maximum of the meteor shower in the night on 13th August 2018 I was very lucky with the weather. This year I made the observations from behind my attic window and I was really happy that I was able to spot so many meteors. Now you can find some short information about all the nights when I tried to spot meteors:

 

11.08. / 12.08.2018: Already in the night before the maximum I tried my luck to see some meteors even the observation conditions weren’t that good. But even here I was able to spot at least 3 meteors within 2 hours.  

12.08. / 13.08.2018: For the maximum of the Perseids meteor shower the weather forecast was quiet not sure. The most of the 10 weather models which I proved simulated already early thick high clouds whih would have been really disturbed the observation. But within  all this weather models there were two models which offered clear sky the most of the night. Congratulations to this weather models because they simulated the actual weather almost correct. Only between 0.45 am and 1.45 am the sky was covered with some more thick clouds, otherwise the sky was clear with good visibility conditions – at least for the city here. Later at 3.30 am the clouds get started to got more thick from the western direction because of the approximating convergence line and followed by the cold front. It was really a blessing that the clouds broke up at about 1.40 am. Why? Because I was able to see absolutely most wonderful meteor of the whole night at 1.50 am and I also caught it on a photo. This meteor was the brightest of the night and even after it burned up it showed a smoking trail for about 5 seconds. Amazing! And of course also my tired feeling was gone for some time. In total I was able to spot 51 meteors from 10.30 pm until 3.30 am and many of them were kind of bright and showe a smoking trail.   

13.08. / 14.08.2018: During the night after the maximum I observed about 1 hour the starry sky to spot some more meteors. During the time from 11.30 pm to 0.30 am unfortunately I wasn’t able to spot any meteor. Due to the reason that I was still tired from the last night, I decided to end the observation then at 0.30 am.

 

 

error:

11.-13.08.2018 – Die Perseiden 2018

Die Perseiden 2018 waren leider vom Wetter her etwas durchwachsen, aber zum Maximum in der Nacht auf den 13.08.2018 hatte ich dann doch Glück mit dem Wetter. Die Beobachtung dieses Jahr nur vom Dachfenster, aber ich war sehr glücklich doch viele gesehen zu haben. Nachfolgend nur eine kurze Information zu den jeweiligen Nächten da die meiste Zeit natürlich gewartet wurde und sonst um die Meteorbeobachtung herum nicht viel passiert ist:

 

11.08. / 12.08.2018: Bereits in dieser Nacht versuchte ich mein Glück aber die Bedingungen waren nicht optimal und ich konnte wirklich nur 3 Perseiden innerhalb von 2 Stunden beobachten.

12.08. / 13.08.2018: Für das Maximum der Perseiden war die Wettervorhersage nicht wirklich klar. Die meisten der 10 geprüften Wettermodelle simulierten bereits früh hohe dichte Bewölkung welche die Sicht definitiv sehr eingeschränkt hätten. Unter diesen ganzen Wettermodellen gab es dann aber zwei, welche den Großteil der Nacht klaren Himmel im Angebot hatten. Herzlichen Glückwunsch kann ich da nur sagen, denn diese lagen fast goldrichtig. Lediglich zwischen 0:45 Uhr und 1:45 Uhr waren mal dichtere Wolken da, ansonsten klarer Himmel mit recht beachtlichem Seeing – zumindest für die Stadt hier. Erst um 3:30 Uhr verdichtete sich die Bewölkung von Westen her dann entgültig da die Konvergenz dicht gefolgt von der Kaltfront anrückte. Dabei war es ein Segen das die Bewölkuing bereits gegen 1:45 Uhr wieder deutlich auflockerte. Wieso? Weil ich um 1:50 Uhr den absolut schönsten Meteor der Nacht beobachten konnte und – sogar auf einem Foto habe! Dieser war sehr hell und zeigte nach seinem Verglühen immer noch gut 5 Sekunden eine deutlich Rauchspur! Da hatte alles gepasst und auch meine Müdigkeit war komplett weg. Insgesamt konnte ich im Zeitraum von 22:30 – 03:30 Uhr ganze 51 Meteore beobachten, davon viele auch heller und mit Rauchspur sichtbar.

13.08. / 14.08.2018: In der Nacht nach dem Maximum beobachtete ich nur gut 1 Stunden den Nachthimmel da ich von der vorherigen Nacht noch recht müde war.Von ungefähr 23:30 Uhr bis 0:30 Uhr konnte ich keinen Meteor beobachten.

 

 

error: